Thoughts Between Sundays

Some of what crosses my mind between Sundays

Lenten Images

1 Comment

Earlier this week, I ran across several Facebook posts talking about the Lenten Photo-a-day challenge.  I was interested and started looking at the words.  I was in a space where I was considering my Lenten discipline.  I looked at the list of words, and was not exactly inspired.  But then I read this blog post about Epiphany STARWords, and was really intrigued by the idea of siting with a word every day for a year.  I looked at the list of STARwords, and images started coming to mind for some of them (more on that in a minute).  I liked these words, a lot.  So I printed the list, numbered them found a random number generator and gave myself a random word for each day of Lent.  And, I’ll take a picture of it.

I have found myself lately full of words.  I’ve been doing a lot of planning, writing, meeting, talking, listening – all the things that pastors do.  But, I have not found myself imagining as much as I would like.  My prayer life has been one area where I am tired of words.  So, I am praying in images instead – picturing the request, the person or event, and God in that event.  It’s hard to explain, but I am finding it fulfilling – there is room for the Holy Spirit to move around and let me see things differently.  The idea of taking a word and seeing it instead of speaking it appeals to my sense of what needs to be laid aside and what needs to shift to allow God to be at work.  I am going to publish the pictures here and on Facebook, as I feel I want to.  Not every picture will be something I want to share, not will every connection between word and image be meaningful to those who read this blog or follow me on Facebook.  This is a practice for me.

Today is Ash Wednesday, the day we contemplate our mortality and the sin in our lives.  Teh acrid smoke int he sanctuary still clings close, and we have shifted into the season of Lent.

Today’s word is: tolerate

I am tolerating the grey, cold, wet days.  (click the picture to see it bigger)

860967_10200587615031535_1430721215_o

One thought on “Lenten Images

  1. Love this Julie. I am doing the words from the UMC group, but I may like yours better. However, like you, I am finding that God is meeting me in the word and image meditation. Lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

