Thoughts Between Sundays

Some of what crosses my mind between Sundays

Where the Boys Are

Leave a comment

Last Wednesday’s dinner was fried chicken, fried okra, beans, biscuits, mashed potatoes, and a table full of Middle School Boys.  Gulp….

Why was I eating dinner with a table of middle school boys on Wednesday at Family Night Supper?  Read this post to find out and read the beginning of the story.  It will open in a new window.

So, now it was time for me to see what the boys thought about Samuel and Eli.  And, readers, you will be disappointed.  Maybe it is because this crowd was older.  Maybe because they had more time to learn from their parents and teachers.  But they had a lot of awesome, theologically sound things to say about the story, that I’m not going to blog about until the sermon is written – -we do want you to come to church after all 🙂

What struck me though, was as we were talking about Samuel and Eli and the priest, somehow the subject came up of who you talk to when you have questions.  One thing became remarkably clear – -there are some things that have not changed since I was in middle school, that have probably been the same since Jesus was a middle school boy, and will probably be the same until he comes again.  It is a truth the crosses gender and race and time – -in Middle School, you are afraid to ask questions because you are afraid of looking like you are the only one who does not know the answer.  I remember that feeling well, and that was one of the things we talked about — how do you ask the questions when you are scared of being laughed at or made fun of?

I’m not sure I had any answers that satisfied that night.  I hope what this group heard was that they can always ask, and as one of their pastors I will always take their questions seriously and answer them to the best of my ability.  My prayer is that as parents and members of the body of Christ that is raising and nurturing our children, you all will too.

Leave a Reply

