Thoughts Between Sundays

Some of what crosses my mind between Sundays

Organic Planning

Leave a comment

I was described last week as “organic”.  The term came from a conversation where the discussion had turned to PDA’s and iPhones and digital calendars vs. paper calendars.  I will be the first to admit, I am a gadget person.  Yet, I have not been able to embrace the digital calendar.  I tried when I moved here, did it on my iPod and Mac and internet and it just did not work for me.  I like to be able to write things down, see the month spread out before me with each individual week behind it, feel the pencil on the page, and cross things off my to-do list.  The digital check box, or the “strike out” command does not offer the same satisfaction as crossing an item off a to-do list.  And, you can’t shred your digital to-do list at the end of the day, which is what usually happens to the paper version.  Talk about things that feel good!  Even if half of it has been written on tomorrow’s page — which is what happens – – a lot of ministry carries from day to day and list to list.

Today was really organic. We were having server issues.  It is being worked on.  So I spent some of the day while e-mail and Word and the internet were down using paper and pen to plan the XL class I begin teaching next week.  It was a very different experience than if I had sat at the computer and typed it out in linear fashion – -at one point I had 4 lists and pages spread out on my desk and could see them all at once and could move them around and shuffle them.  I will neither confirm nor deny ripping one list into several pieces and taping the pieces into other pages where they seemed to really belong.

Not all work can be done this way, and tomorrow I’ll bring my laptop, just in case – -there is other work to be done that requires the computer.  But, for a day it was fun to touch the pages, move the pen on the page and exercise the organic side of my brain.

Leave a Reply

